Lucie

I am always tempted to sing the song –  “Lucie in the sky with diamonds” (Beatles)– but this Lucie is in a carriage driving Hercules, her Percheron Gelding. Her husband Dr. Phil Murphy is on the back with Alex. DSC_0024

Alex bought Hercules for Dr Phil and Lucie to replace a horse of theirs that unfortunately died. This beautiful gelding is no stranger to the show ring and will be great for Lucie’s first driving show.

DSC_0096

Lucie is driving Hercules and Amos, their team, in front of their Valley Vet Clinic, Deer Lodge, MT.

ps1DSC_0076 - Copy

I took this shot one evening coming home from a lesson. Dr Phil is on the back of the carriage in the navigator position.

DSC_0283

Alex is giving Lucie a lesson on a two-wheel show cart – which is much different to drive than a four-wheel marathon vehicle. Lucie has entered the Big Sky Draft Horse Expo (September 17 & 18, 2011) and is learning all she can to compete this year. She is a very accomplished horsewoman in the saddle and now she is learning this whole new aspect of horsemanship. Driving is very different from riding.

DSC_0287

I seem to always catch them leaving the barn because they are so quiet coming back that I only have the going-away shots.  I almost forgot to add something Lucie said  “Yesterday I felt the connection with my horse through the lines and I almost cried!” That really touched me – and I thought it was like having an “ah-ha” moment. When you do feel that connection, then you become part of the whole unit – horse and driver as one. It is a nice feeling. Glad you felt it Lucie!

Lucie attended her first draft horse show September 18, 2011. I was busy in the two booths I had – one for the Books and one for some vehicles we were selling for clients – so I missed Lucie’s drive. A good friend of mine, Kae Cheatham, a professional photographer and author – let me use a couple of the shots she took of Lucie at the Expo. Visit her web sites – Kae does some amazing photo-art.

So here is Lucie at the show driving Hercules.

And…

Lucie placed 4th in the Pleasure Cart Class, which was very good for her first event. I think she had fun too!

Thanks Kae for letting me use your images!

This entry was posted in Lucie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lucie

  1. Owen says:

    Nice photos, glad to see Milo has every thing under control.

  2. Margaret says:

    I love Lucie!

Leave a Comment

